RSS Feed

Oatmeal for the Healthier You

I like eating oatmeal at breakfast time, because it is so good for you and a substantial meal.  It stays with you…

But people often don’t like it or think it is way  too healthy. 

I usually make it on the stove using instant oatmeal, because it is fast. 

However, if you buy the ‘quick’ cooking oats be aware that there are some chemicals and more salt added. 

I just found a recipe for baking oatmeal in the oven and you can use the regular oats, which are free of

chemicals.  You can even buy organic. 

In a bowl you just combine 2 cups of oatmeal with 2 cups of skim milk or any kind you like…

Add 1/2 tsp of vanilla; mix in 1/2 cup of dried cranberries or any other fruit you prefer and 1/2 cup of sliced almonds, if you like. 

You can add a grated Mcintosh apple to mix in, or leave it out…

Stir all ingredients…

Then put mixture into a baking dish, previously greased to avoid sticking.

Spread evenly…

You bake it in the oven at 400 degrees F for about 45 minutes or less.

Then it’s done…so easy and healthy. 

Plus, you can put leftovers in the fridge for the next morning.

My family loved it and my husband usually will not go near oatmeal. 

My son liked it so it is a healthy choice for children too!

You can put some agave or maple syrup on top if you choose.

Eat it in a bowl with milk on top and it’s ready to go. 

Try it and see what you think!

From the “Eat-Clean Diet” cookbook by Tosca Reno

About jillannbromwich

I work at home to be with my son. Helping others with their businesses is my priority. I also want to educate people on health and wellness. Going Green is important to me.

Leave a Reply

